A Guide for Solomon Islands and Sri Lankan Citizens


Traveling to India can be a captivating experience, filled with vibrant culture, historical landmarks, and breathtaking landscapes. As an exotic destination with a diverse range of attractions, India appeals to travelers from all around the world. If you are a citizen of the INDIAN VISA FOR SOLOMON ISLANDS CITIZENS, this article serves as a comprehensive guide to obtaining an Indian visa and exploring the wonders of this incredible country.

Understanding the Indian Visa Process

1. Indian Visa for Solomon Islands Citizens

For citizens of the INDIAN VISA FOR SRILANKAN CITIZENS, visiting India requires obtaining an Indian visa. The Indian government offers various visa categories based on the purpose of your visit, such as tourism, business, medical treatment, or education. To initiate the application process, the following steps must be followed:

a) Determine the Visa Type: First, identify the purpose of your visit to India. Each visa type has specific requirements and documents, so choose the one that aligns with your intentions.

b) Complete the Application Form: Once you know the appropriate visa category, fill out the online application form available on the official Indian visa application website.

c) Gather Required Documents: The Indian visa application typically requires documents like a valid passport with at least six months validity from the date of travel, recent passport-sized photographs, travel itinerary, proof of accommodation in India, and supporting documents specific to the visa type.

d) Visa Processing Time: The processing time for an Indian visa may vary, so it’s essential to apply well in advance to avoid any last-minute hassles.

Indian Visa for Sri Lankan Citizens

Similarly, citizens of Sri Lanka planning to visit India for tourism, business, or other purposes need to apply for an Indian visa. The application process for Sri Lankan citizens follows a similar pattern to that of the Solomon Islands citizens:

a) Choose the Visa Category: As a Sri Lankan citizen, you must select the appropriate visa category depending on the purpose of your travel to India.

b) Complete the Application Form: The Indian visa application form can be filled out online, and it’s crucial to provide accurate and up-to-date information.

c) Prepare Required Documents: Necessary documents include a valid passport, photographs, travel itinerary, accommodation details, and additional documents as per the specific visa category.

d) Visa Processing Time: The processing time for Indian visas may vary based on factors such as the volume of applications, time of the year, and your chosen visa category. Hence, plan your trip well in advance to avoid any delays.

Indian Visa on Arrival (e-Visa)

Both the Solomon Islands and Sri Lankan citizens have the convenience of applying for an Indian visa on arrival through the e-Visa facility. This streamlined process eliminates the need to visit an Indian embassy or consulate, making it easier for travelers to explore the country. Here are some essential points to consider for e-Visa:

a) Eligibility: Not all countries are eligible for the e-Visa facility. Ensure that your country is listed in the eligible countries for the Indian e-Visa.

b) Application Process: The e-Visa application involves completing an online form, submitting the required documents electronically, and making the payment.

c) Processing Time: The processing time for e-Visas is generally quicker than traditional visa applications, typically taking a few days to process.

d) Restrictions: The e-Visa is typically granted for short stays, and there are specific restrictions on the number of times you can avail of the e-Visa within a calendar year.

Exploring India: Top Destinations

1. The Golden Triangle – Delhi, Agra, Jaipur

The Golden Triangle is one of India’s most popular tourist circuits, comprising Delhi, Agra, and Jaipur. In Delhi, you can explore historical landmarks like the Red Fort, Qutub Minar, and India Gate. Agra is home to the magnificent Taj Mahal, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, while Jaipur captivates visitors with its stunning palaces and vibrant culture.

2. Kerala – God’s Own Country

Kerala, located in the southern part of India, is renowned for its backwaters, lush green landscapes, and serene beaches. The tranquil houseboat cruises in the backwaters are a must-do experience, and the cultural richness of Kerala is a delight to witness.

3. Varanasi – The Spiritual Capital

Varanasi, situated along the sacred Ganges River, is one of the oldest continuously inhabited cities in the world. It is a significant spiritual hub, attracting pilgrims and travelers seeking an immersive cultural experience.


Traveling to India as a citizen of the Solomon Islands or Sri Lanka requires obtaining the appropriate Indian visa. Whether you opt for the traditional visa or the e-Visa facility, the diverse and enchanting experiences that await you in India are worth the effort. From exploring the historical treasures of the Golden Triangle to immersing yourself in the spiritual aura of Varanasi, India offers a journey like no other.